The Miami Heat are a professional basketball team from Miami, Florida.

The Heat are a member of the Eastern Conference Southeast Division of the National Basketball Association.

The team has won three NBA titles and plays their home games at FTX Arena.

As an expansion team, the squad debuted in the 1988–89 season.

Pat Riley became team president and head coach in the mid-1990s, bringing the Heat back to prominence after a decade of mediocrity.

Riley orchestrated the Alonzo Mourning and Tim Hardaway deals that powered the franchise into the playoffs.

Prior to their exits in 2001 and 2002, Mourning and Hardaway led the Heat to four straight division victories.

The squad also had success after picking Dwyane Wade in 2003.